Himalaya: Listen. Learn. Grow.

4.8K Ratings
Open In App
title

Ambition Out Loud

Cultivate Ink

Followers
Plays
Ambition Out Loud
50 min2020 OCT 31
Play Episode
Comments
title

Details

Phylicia L. Woods comes from a long line of bold and empowered women. She is a Director of Federal Relations at the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network and currently serves as Vice Chair on the Fairfax County Commission for Women were she represents the Providence District. She previously served as Counsel to Former U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill on the U.S. Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee and as Health Counsel on the U.S. Senate Special Committee on Aging. In this episode, Phylicia shares her multi-generational secrets so that you can learn how to empower yourself. Mentioned in this episode: Executive Order on Combating Race and Sex Stereotyping: https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/executive-order-combating-race-sex-stereotyping/ Agencies, Contractors Suspend Diversity Training to Avoid Violating Trump Order by Melissa Block (NPR): https://www.npr.org/2020/10/30/929165869/agencies-contractors-suspend-diversity-training-to-avoid-violating-trump-order Voting Rights Act of 1965 Remains a Work in Progress Against Suppression by Rebecca R. Bibbs (The Goshen News): https://www.goshennews.com/indiana/news/voting-rights-act-of-1965-remains-a-work-in-progress-against-suppression/article_79c002de-5d23-5fb6-b84c-9d16e6789592.html This Year's Election Will Decide Whether America Witnesses a Third Reconstruction by David A. Love (The Washington Post): https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/2020/10/29/this-years-elections-will-decide-if-america-witnesses-third-reconstruction/ John Lewis' Legacy Is the Right to Vote. And It's Under Attack by Ari Berman (Mother Jones): https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2020/07/john-lewis-legacy-is-the-right-to-vote-and-its-under-attack/ Connect with Phylicia: Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/phylnoinsta/ LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/phylicia-l-woods-esq-15831a23/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/phylwoo Community: Looking to connect with other ambitious women? Our community's online hang out is the Ambition Unboxed FB Group at: http://www.facebook.com/groups/ambitionunboxed. Sponsors: Nardi Media Black Lives Matter Book Club: https://nardimedia.com/bookclub/ BLM Book Club Companion Box by Ambition Unboxed: https://bit.ly/2CYLBBv Her Hideaways - use code AMBITIONOUTLOUD for $25 OFF any order: https://www.herhideaways.com/ (https://www.herhideaways.com/)